< Firm News

Oyen Wiggs Recognized in Canadian Law Awards 2021

We are pleased to announce that the 2021 Canadian Law Awards has selected Oyen Wiggs as one of the Excellence Award recipients in the category of “IP Boutique Law Firm of the Year”.

This also makes our firm a Finalist for the Gold Winner Award, which will be announced May 20th, 2021.

The annual Canadian Law Awards are a celebration of excellence in the legal profession. The Awards recognize the nation’s leading law firms, in-house legal departments, legal professionals in select categories, and noteworthy cases and deals from the past year. The inaugural 2020 Canadian Law Awards also recognized our firm as an Excellence Awardee.

Organized by Key Media, the Canadian Law Awards are supported by Canadian Lawyer and Canadian Lawyer Inhouse and presented by Lexpert.

Our Continuing Commitment to Excellence in IP Law

In addition to this recognition, Oyen Wiggs has been named one of the “Top 10 Intellectual Property Boutiques“ in Canada 2020 by Canadian Lawyer Magazine and named the “Best Firm for Patenting Your Algorithm or Application” by Above the Law. Best Lawyers 2021  and the Canadian Legal Lexpert® Directory have also recognized our lawyers.

These recognitions are helpful guides for individuals and companies seeking legal counsel because they provide an independent assessment of legal service providers.

Innovators, entrepreneurs, and inventors continue to face new, unusual challenges. In addition to the disruptions created by COVID-19 across almost all markets and industries, there are legal developments to be aware of, such as pending amendments to Canada’s trademark act and, in the U.S., changes arising from the Trademark Modernization Act.

If you are looking for help protecting your innovations or navigating evolving processes and frameworks, the intellectual property lawyers of Oyen Wiggs can help.

More Information on Canadian Law Awards’ Selection Process

The Canadian Law Awards uses a four-stage selection process:

  • Nomination: Members of the legal profession were invited to nominate the most significant firms, individuals, deals, and cases for each category.
  • Research: The Canadian Law Awards team conducted independent research and drew on information obtained from Lexpert, Canadian Lawyer, and InHouse to supplement the information obtained from the nominations.
  • Excellence Awardees Selection: A few select lawyers and firms are listed in each category.
  • Final Judging: An independent panel of judges comprised of managing partners, in-house counsel, and other experienced legal professionals determine the Gold Winner for each category. Gold Winners will be announced virtually this year on May 20th, 2021.

Learn more about the Canadian Law Awards.

Information made available on this website in any form is for information purposes only. It is not, and should not be taken as legal advice. You should not rely on, or take or fail to take any action, based upon this information. Never disregard professional legal advice or delay in seeking legal advice because of something you have read on this website. Oyen Wiggs Green & Mutala LLP professionals will be pleased to discuss resolutions to specific legal concerns you may have.